Nested groups and vertex->group->vertex edges

Sep 23, 2015 at 10:00 PM
I am new to NodeXL and evaluating this tool for visualizing some process flow data. From my preliminary experiments, NodeXL looks very promising. There are a few features that I am looking for that I could not find documentation about:
  1. Does NodeXL support a multi-level hierarchical nature? I was able to use the 'groups' feature to group a set of vertices, but this does not seem to allow me to add nested groups with multiple levels.
  2. When a set of vertices (V1, V2) are collapsed into a group G, the edge from the predecessor/previous vertex, say P to the new group uses one of the edge labels from P->V1 or P->V2 as the new label from P->G.
    Is there a way to modify the labels between vertices and groups?
  3. At a first glance, I was unable to use Excel formulas (using data from user-specified columns) to create labels for my edges/vertices. Is this correct or am I missing something?
Coordinator
Sep 23, 2015 at 10:06 PM
Hello!

Thank you for the interest in NodeXL!
  1. Sadly, no. NodeXL only supports the notion of a single level of groups. Further, groups may not overlap in NodeXL.
  2. Group labels can be modified in the Groups worksheet. Select NodeXL>Show/Hide>Workbook Columns>Labels to reveal these columns.
  3. That should work - you may need to use the formulas and then "paste special as values" to get the text to replace the formula?
Regards,
Marc
Sep 23, 2015 at 10:52 PM
Thanks for the quick reply, Marc!
I am now able to use formulas to define my edge labels (it worked after changing the 'Label' column format to 'General').

I am still unclear about my second question.
Just to clarify, I am able to set a label to the collapsed group itself. I would like to know whether we can change the labels of EDGES between vertices and collapsed groups.
Now, the edge between a regular vertex and a collapsed group, shows the label of one of the 'collapsed edges'.