How to Manage Very Large Graphs in NodeXL

Dec 20, 2008 at 1:24 PM
I have a graph with 25,000+ verticies and 55,000+ edges that I want to graph and explore.  NodeXL was able to graph it but it rendered as a large black "blob" which is pretty much unusable.

In particular I am looking for sub-graph clusters (please excuse me if my terms are wrong, I am still learning the "right" graph terminology) where groups of verticies are have a higher number of edges.

Are there any tips or tricks to getting that kind of information out of such a large graph?  Or should I be using another tool?

Dec 20, 2008 at 5:05 PM

When graphs are very large several techniques may be applied to filter or reduce the data set to a more manageable size.

One suggestion is to avoid visualizing the whole graph with the "Show/Hide Graph Pane" and to use the "Create Subgraph Images" feature instead.  This will create and insert thumbnail images of each node's "ego-network" out a selectable number of degrees.  These images can also be written to a collection of files in a sub-directory.  These images may reveal a range of different patterns of connection within the data set.

Another suggestion is to use filtering: the "Dynamic Filters" feature exposes sliders that allow you to define which nodes and edges should remain in the whole graph displayed in the pane opened with the "Show/Hide Graph Pane" feature.  Once you select "Read Workbook" in this window you will get a display of the whole "blob" network.  Using the dynamic filter to exclude all but the strongest ties, for example, can reveal something about the core members of the network.

Filtering can also be accomplished through the use of formula in the "Visibility" column of the Vertex worksheet.  If this cell is "0" then the node will not be shown.  Thus a formula like:

can filter out all nodes that fail to have a value above a threshold.  Complex visibility decision rules can be built from multiple columns and conditional formula.