Licencing Question

Oct 11, 2008 at 11:52 AM
Is this library allowed to be used in commercial applications? This library appears to be under the Microsoft Public Licence which allows you to do so. However, it depends on Microsoft GLEE which was released under the Microsoft Research Shared Source Licence, which prohibits commercial use...
Oct 11, 2008 at 6:09 PM
Edited Oct 11, 2008 at 6:11 PM
I am not a lawyer but my understanding is that: GLEE Source code is not distributed as part of the .NetMap release. GLEE is not licensed under the MPL.  .NetMap requires GLEE only to support the Sugiyama layout.  4) Redistribution and commercial derivative use of .NetMap is allowed under the MPL license (just not for the GLEE component). -Marc
Oct 11, 2008 at 6:13 PM

I don't know the answer to this.  However, if the inclusion of GLEE turns out to be problematic, it can be excluded from your application.  The GLEE DLL is used only if you use the SugiyamaLayout.  If you never create a SugiyamaLayout object, the DLL isn't needed.

-- Tony
Jan 13, 2009 at 3:25 AM
I'd like to see this issue clarified.  To that end I've created an issue in the issue tracker.  This one file is causing my legal team to tell me I can't move forward with using NodeXL.  (And yes, I want to use the Sugiyama layout.)
Jan 15, 2009 at 4:22 PM
Edited Jan 15, 2009 at 4:27 PM