Draw a graph with vertices in a line

Mar 23, 2012 at 9:51 AM

Hi,

I need to draw a zoomable graph that has vertices on a line (it is a time line, so each vertex represents a point of time), and edges from these vertices to vertices with information. Is it possible with NodeXL? What classes should I use?
I'm using C# and Windows.Forms. I am new to NodeXL and I have just downloaded the NodeXL class library and run an example with NodeXLControl from help. Maybe you could also advise what sections of NodeXLApi help I should read in my case?

Thanks,

Alya

Mar 23, 2012 at 4:56 PM
Edited Mar 23, 2012 at 4:56 PM

Hello, Alya:

The NodeXLControl is appropriate for drawing a network, which is a collection of vertices connected by edges.  Usually, the vertices are laid out using an intelligent algorithm that places them all over the graph.  There are no built-in facilities for laying out your point-in-time vertices along a line, and then intelligently placing information vertices near the point-in-time vertices.  With enough programming work you could probably get the NodeXLControl to do that, but I can't help but wonder whether there is another control out there that might be more appropriate for your particular application and would require less work on your part.  Something intended specifically for a timeline, perhaps.

-- Tony

Mar 24, 2012 at 12:25 PM

Hi Tony,

Thank you for your answer.

Actually, it is a problem to find the control that suits my needs, though I'm still searching. Could you please advise what parts of source code I should change in order to implement this timeline possibility? Or at least what classes should I refer to in the first place? Actually, I do not need timeline with vertices, it can be just a line with dates and edges to actual vertices. Though I do not know which would be easier to implement, the line without vertices or the line consisting of vertices.

Mar 24, 2012 at 9:14 PM

Alya: