API usage

Feb 22, 2011 at 11:47 PM

I'm new to NodeXL and I'm looking for some tutorial to use the API. For example loading data, and running cluster algorithm.

The excel addin is great but not useful for massive data. In my case I have billions of Pearson Correlations of gene expression profiles. What I want to do is to load a simple tab seperated file, calculate the cluster and write each cluster to a new output file.

Would be nice to have a simple tutorial to get started.

Feb 23, 2011 at 1:01 AM
Edited Feb 23, 2011 at 1:03 AM

I wouldn't recommend trying to use NodeXL to process billions of rows, because you will be unhappy with its performance.  It will take forever and will consume huge amounts of memory.  NodeXL is optimized for ease of use, both at the Excel and API level, when working with graphs that have a few thousand vertices and a few thousand edges.  You can push it with tens of thousands of vertices and edges if you are the patient type, but billions is simply out of NodeXL's league.

Instead, I would suggest taking a look at SNAP, the Stanford Network Analysis Platform developed by Jure Leskovec and his team.  SNAP is optimized for use with very large graphs and might be just what you're looking for.

-- Tony

Feb 23, 2011 at 2:43 AM

I thought the ClausetNewmanMoore algorithm is using SNAP. So would you expect that it takes forever or a couple of hours/days? I just have to process the data once.

Feb 23, 2011 at 4:43 AM

That's correct.  But first you would have to populate a NodeXL Graph object with billions of vertices and edges, and your machine will likely run out of managed memory long before that finishes.  And even if that worked somehow, the NodeXL Graph object would then have to pass through a C#-to-C++ translation layer (NodeXL is C#, SNAP is C++), which would require even more memory, gigabytes of disk space, and I don't know how much time.