Girvan-Newman algorithm never returns any clusters

May 1, 2010 at 7:03 PM
Edited May 2, 2010 at 5:36 AM

I am trying to cluster about 8k nodes and about 160K edges between them, two of the other algorithms run very fast but Girvan-Newman gets lost in the space.

Is it algorithm problem or is it implementation thing?.

Cheers,

May 2, 2010 at 7:07 PM

It's just a slow algorithm.  With 160K edges, it could take hours.  I recommend one of the other two algorithms for larger graphs.

-- Tony

May 2, 2010 at 7:28 PM

For the next release, I've changed the menu text from "Use Girvan-Newman (Slower)" to "Use Girvan-Newman (Slower, for Small Graphs Only)."

-- Tony

May 3, 2010 at 2:19 AM

Thanks for your reply.

Any idea when source code for new version will come out?.

Cheers,

May 3, 2010 at 7:34 AM

Hello Tony,

Actually i am doing my thesis and want to compare CNM and Wakita algorithms. For these purposes, i need to look at the source code and compare modularity for different community sizes of both algorithms.

Is there any way where i can get the updated source code?

Cheers,

-Bassam

May 3, 2010 at 3:59 PM
Edited May 3, 2010 at 4:25 PM

Hi Tony,

Sorry to be a pain, i just ran through the code of Wakita alogrithm, in their paper they have used consolidation ratios. They use these ratios, along with modularity, to maintain the balance of merging communities.

In NodeXL implementation of this algorithm, i cannot find any such thing. Am i missing a point?

Thanks,

May 3, 2010 at 5:53 PM

Bassam:

The next version of NodeXL, to be released around May 12, will include source code.  However, it won't include the SNAP source code used for the CNM algorithm, only an executable built from the SNAP source code.  You can get the SNAP source code today from http://snap.stanford.edu/index.html.  The SNAP source code for the CNM algorithm is in the CommunityGirvanNewman() function in cmty.cpp.