Customization Assembly could not be found

Oct 22, 2009 at 2:57 PM
Edited Oct 22, 2009 at 2:58 PM

I am new to NODEXL and EXCEL 2007 (extensive experience with EXCEL 2003).  There were no issues during the installation of the template.  I am able to get results by "cutting and pasting" from a workbook created in Excel 2003 but opened with Excel 2007 into a new template.   The problem comes after saving the file.   When I try to reopen the new workbook the following dialoge box is displayed:  Title: "Microsoft Office Document Customization"; Message: "The customization assembly cound not be found or loaded.  You can still edit and save the document.  Contact your administrator or the author of this document for further assistance."

Does anyone have any suggestions to correct the problem?

Oct 22, 2009 at 4:21 PM
Edited Oct 22, 2009 at 6:54 PM

A couple of questions:

1. Does the dialog box contain additional error details?  Please click the Details button if there is one, then press Ctrl-C and paste the entire error message here.

2. Omitting any cutting-and-pasting from another workbook for the moment, can you open the NodeXL template, type something (anything) into it, save it as a workbook, and reopen the workbook successfully?

-- Tony

Oct 22, 2009 at 7:16 PM

Actually, I might know the cause of the problem.  Please see "About Excel's Trusted Locations":

http://nodexl.codeplex.com/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=72820

-- Tony

Oct 22, 2009 at 8:49 PM
Edited Oct 22, 2009 at 10:10 PM

Thank you Tony, the "Trusted Locations" suggestion worked beautifully.  I can now open the file and display the graph.  

I have 3 additional issues that are not obvious to me.