Issue with (re-)installing NodeXL Pro

Dec 29, 2015 at 2:40 PM
Edited Dec 29, 2015 at 2:48 PM

I am a NodeXL Pro user. Some days ago I tired to open the template, but I did not manage to do so because of the "Update Office Customization" error. I decided to uninstall NodeXL and reinstall the Pro version, which I downloaded from I did clean the "C:\Users\User\AppData\Local\Apps\2.0" folder before installing the Pro version again. However, now I cannot install NodeXL Pro because of the "Exception reading manifest from the manifest may not be valid or the file could not be opened" error. Error details are the following:

************** Exception Text **************
System.Deployment.Application.InvalidDeploymentException: Exception reading manifest from the manifest may not be valid or the file could not be opened. ---> System.Deployment.Application.InvalidDeploymentException: Manifest XML signature is not valid. ---> System.Security.Cryptography.CryptographicException: SignatureDescription could not be created for the signature algorithm supplied.
at System.Security.Cryptography.Xml.SignedXml.CheckSignedInfo(AsymmetricAlgorithm key)
at System.Security.Cryptography.Xml.SignedXml.CheckSignature(AsymmetricAlgorithm key)
at System.Security.Cryptography.Xml.SignedXml.CheckSignatureReturningKey(AsymmetricAlgorithm& signingKey)
at System.Deployment.Internal.CodeSigning.SignedCmiManifest.Verify(CmiManifestVerifyFlags verifyFlags)
at System.Deployment.Application.Manifest.AssemblyManifest.ValidateSignature(Stream s)
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at System.Deployment.Application.Manifest.AssemblyManifest.ValidateSignature(Stream s)
at System.Deployment.Application.ManifestReader.FromDocument(String localPath, ManifestType manifestType, Uri sourceUri)
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Tools.Applications.Deployment.ClickOnceAddInDeploymentManager.GetManifests(TimeSpan timeout)