NodeXL Basic not available?

Oct 26, 2015 at 6:18 PM
Hi,

I tried to open NodeXl basic today and it said "Welcome to NodeXL Pro"!. But I haven't bought it yet. I'm not sure what's wrong here. NodeXL basic is not free anymore? Why can't I access it?

Isa
Coordinator
Oct 27, 2015 at 1:43 PM
Hello Isa,

NodeXL Basic is free and you can download it from here https://nodexl.codeplex.com/releases/view/117659. NodeXL Pro doesn't open unless you have purchased a valid license so I don't think what you are seeing is Pro.

Can you please make a screen shot of the message and send it to arberceni@smrfoundation.org?

Regards,
Arber
Oct 27, 2015 at 5:54 PM
Sent. Thanks.
Coordinator
Oct 27, 2015 at 6:36 PM
Hello Daud Isa,

thank you for using NodeXL!

We upgraded NodeXL on 12 of October and provided 2 versions: NodeXL Pro and NodeXL Basic.

NodeXL Pro needs a license which can be purchased here http://nodexlgraphgallery.org/Pages/Registration.aspx

NodeXL Basic is free and open and can be downloaded from here http://nodexl.codeplex.com/releases/view/117659

The old NodeXL was automatically upgraded to Pro, so that is why it requires you to choose the license path. To go back to NodeXL Basic you should first uninstall NodeXL from Control Panel (like you already did) and follow the steps in this post http://nodexl.codeplex.com/discussions/646168

I sent this text by e-mail too. Hope this helps!

Regards,
Arber
Nov 1, 2015 at 8:11 PM
Same issue but not fixed by above. Excel (2016) just crashes, you have just wrecked a useful tool that schools used to be able to use.

Very disappointed,

Chris
Coordinator
Nov 2, 2015 at 10:27 AM
Hello Chris,

sorry to hear about your issues!

Can you please send some screenshots at arberceni@smrfoundation.org so we can try and fix the problem?

Regards,
Arber
Nov 3, 2015 at 8:59 PM
Dear Arber,

I unfortunately have the same problem.
As per your instructions, I uninstalled NodeXL but could not re-installed.
I keep on having the following message "Unable to install this application because an application with the same identity is already installed. To install this application, either modify the manifest version for this application or uninstall the preexisting application"

Regards,
Louis
Coordinator
Nov 3, 2015 at 10:18 PM
Edited Nov 3, 2015 at 10:19 PM
Hello Louis,

thank you for using NodeXL!

please follow the instructions in this post http://nodexl.codeplex.com/discussions/646168

If you installed NodeXL for other user accounts, you have to delete the folder also in the other accounts.

Regards,
Arber
Nov 4, 2015 at 11:36 AM
Very disappointed that this product change was done mid semester - I was using NodeXL with my class to do twitter user pulls, and now we can no longer do this with NodeXL Basic - we would have to upgrade to Pro, which is not feasible at this point. I strongly encourage you to consider licensing arrangements for academic institutions to use the NodeXL Pro for a semester - much like other software products do (I'd be happy to share some examples). Students can be great advocates for products when they enter the workforce.
Nov 6, 2015 at 3:57 PM
Dear Arber,

I followed your instructions and was able to re-install NodeXL.
Thank you. My students will be happy.

Regards,
Louis
Coordinator
Nov 7, 2015 at 12:06 AM
Hello Louis,

happy to hear that!

Regards,
Arber
Nov 8, 2015 at 10:42 PM
Dear Arber,

No response about academic use???

JJ
Coordinator
Nov 8, 2015 at 11:04 PM
Hello!

We offer academic and student pricing for NodeXL Pro and we offer NodeXL Basic free of charge.

See: https://www.nodexlgraphgallery.org/Pages/Registration.aspx

Regards,

Marc