RE: making sub group graphs of twitter data

Sep 22, 2015 at 11:52 AM
Edited Sep 22, 2015 at 11:53 AM
Hi, I am new to Nodexl. I have managed to create sub groups of twitter users but can't seem to find out how to make a graph of each sub group (e.g. if there are 12 subgroups) I assume you can make a graph of each group. I don't mean a graph for each individual twitter user. I worked that out.
Also how do I make a graph of a)top 10 # tags, b) top 10 tweets, c) top 10 followers etc.
Another issue, I am having is the twitter import function isn't bringing in the icon/photo of the user (is this because they have locked their twitter profile?).
thanks
Rose
Coordinator
Sep 22, 2015 at 4:34 PM
Hello!

Thank you for the interest in NodeXL!

NodeXL can create Groups in various ways. See NodeXL>Analysis>Groups>Group by [Vertex Attribute, Cluster, Connected Component].

A "Groups" worksheet is created to hold information about each group.

In the Groups worksheet the "Visibility" column controls the display of each group. To reveal the "Visibility" column you may need to select: NodeXL>Show/Hide>Workbook Columns>Visual Properties.

You could turn off all groups but one by placing a "0" in the "Visibility" column of each group.

Changing which group gets a "1" will change which group is displayed in the graph pane.

You may also find the "Group-in-a-box" layout to be of interest. See NodeXL>Graph Pane>Layout Menu>Layout Options>Lay out each of the graph's groups in its own box.

You can also sort the Vertices worksheet by the attributes you mention (Followers, for example). Like Groups, Vertices have a "Visibility" column. Setting this cell value to "0" will make that vertex disappear.

Image file data are present in the Vertices worksheet. Is the "Image file" column populated in your data set?