Customize Polar Graph without coding knowledge?

Apr 10, 2015 at 8:50 PM
Hi,

I am graphing HR department data and want to create a star polar graph where the head of the department will be in the center, his/her direct reports will be surrounding the center vertex in a circle shape evenly spaced from each other and the center vertex. Each one of those vertices will have its own source vertices surrounding them in another layer, and so on, so that you end up creating a flower looking graph. really powerful for the HR and business leaders to identify strange looking areas of their org.

My question is, how can i automate the vertex placement in node xl? I am not a programmer, but maybe if someone would be willing to walk me through this i could do it... i have to create a ton of these so it'll definitely pay off to spend more time now up front getting the logic built in behind the data so i can just drop in new data for different departments and create this quickly.

i've tried all of the different layouts, groups and clustering and can't find anything that will help me with this. if someone can please be patient and help a beginner i would be so grateful, but if it's coding i am going to need way more step by step help.

thank you!
Coordinator
Apr 10, 2015 at 9:28 PM
Hello!

Thank you for the interest in NodeXL!

I think you may have some luck by setting the "R" and "Angle" values for the polar layout using Autofill Columns.

See:

NodeXL > Visual Properties > Autofill Columns > Vertices > Vertex Polar R
NodeXL > Visual Properties > Autofill Columns > Vertices > Vertex Polar Angle

The first value is distance from center.

The second value is position around the ring.

If you give each vertex in your data set a pair of values, one for the "management level" the other for the department, the result might be close to what you describe.

I hope this gets you closer to your goal.

Regards,

Marc
Apr 10, 2015 at 10:30 PM
Marc,