Determining mutual followers and cluster coefficients of a user's Twitter friends

Feb 11, 2015 at 6:13 AM
Edited Feb 11, 2015 at 6:14 AM
Hey all,

I'm not technical, but a do a lot of data analysis, and use Gephi for analyzing community data on users of our own product.

I need to do 3 things, and I can't find a reasonable solution with NodeXL, though I believe it's totally possible:
  1. I need to examine all of the followers of users that I follow (there are <200 users I follow), to look for mutual followers among them.
  2. I need to get a cluster coefficient of users that follow the people I follow on Twitter.
  3. I want to be able to put this into Gephi and run Force Atlas to examine all of the followers of the people I follow, and how they are connected. I'm completely comfortable in Gephi.
Can someone point me in the right direction? Thank you in advance!
Coordinator
Feb 11, 2015 at 2:46 PM
Edited Feb 11, 2015 at 2:47 PM
Hello!

Thank you for the interest in NodeXL!
  1. I need to examine all of the followers of users that I follow (there are <200 users I follow), to look for mutual followers among them.

Access to "follower" edges in Twitter is strictly limited. Please have a look at:
      http://www.connectedaction.net/2013/06/11/over-the-edge-twitter-api-1-1-makes-follows-edges-hard-to-get/

However, NodeXL can collect the follower relationships (over time) via the NodeXL>Data>Import>From Twitter Users network....
  2. I need to get a cluster coefficient of users that follow the people I follow on Twitter.

Clustering coefficient is a vertex level metric that measures the density of connections among an "ego's" 1.5 degree local network.

Density is a network level metric that measures the percentage of observed connections out of the total population of all possible connections in a whole network.