Class Libraries - Drawing Edges

Jan 24, 2015 at 6:34 PM
Edited Jan 24, 2015 at 6:34 PM
I have imported an excel worksheet which was gathered using the Facebook api through the NodeXL Template(just using the template for now to gather data, later I would like to interact with the FB api using the class libraries not the template.).

I have drawn the Vertices without any issue. Although I'm finding it a little tricky to match up the edges using the imported data in the excel file. The data in the excel file is laid out in the Edges worksheet like:

Vertex A | Vertex D
Vertex F | Vertex G
Vertex B | Vertex A
Vertex M | Vertex T
Vertex A | Vertex S

I am new to the NodeXL class libraries and am still playing around with them but could anyone help me out with this.

Due to the data being Different each time I download a FB friends list using the template and along with the edge worksheet having around 5000K rows, how do you identify each Vertex uniquely? Does the class libraries have a way or doing this so the edges can be easily coded.

For examples, I cant have each edge statically defined in my code as there are too many edges to make this logical:
IEdge oEdge1 = oEdges.Add(oVertexA, oVertexD, true);
IEdge oEdge2 = oEdges.Add(oVertexF, oVertexG, true);
IEdge oEdge3 = oEdges.Add(oVertexB, oVertexA, true);
IEdge oEdge2 = oEdges.Add(oVertexM, oVertexT, true);
IEdge oEdge3 = oEdges.Add(oVertexA, oVertexS, true);
Once again, thanks to whoever takes the time to help me out,
Matt
Coordinator
Jan 29, 2015 at 4:45 PM
Hello Matt,

when a vertex is created it gets a unique ID for the graph which can be accessed through the ID property of the vertex. The same applies to edges.

Regards,
Arber
Jan 29, 2015 at 5:02 PM
Also, Matt, please note that there is a Smrf.NodeXL.Adapters.SimpleGraphAdapter class that will create a new graph for you by reading an edge list from a string, file, or stream, without your having to keep track of the vertices. You would use it something like this: