Import JSON data from Twitter Streaming API to build a network from

Mar 31, 2014 at 5:20 PM
Edited Mar 31, 2014 at 5:20 PM
If my understanding is correct, the Twitter Search feature is based on the Search API, which goes back ~7 days.

Recently I've been collecting data from the Twitter Streaming API, then extracting the relationships from the data using a python script called MentionMapper. This works well to get the bare network, but leaves behind all the valuable associated metadata. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, I was wondering if I would be possible to somehow import the raw JSON data into NodeXL to process, like it does with the Search API data?

My hopes are to be able to use all awesome of the features of NodeXL (like Top URLs, Top Domains, Top Hashtags, Top Words, Top Relied-To, etc.) in my analysis of Twitter Streaming API data.
Mar 31, 2014 at 7:10 PM
Hello, Curtis:

Yes, that's correct: NodeXL uses the Twitter Search API, which only goes back a week or so.

I haven't used MentionMapper, and I can't seem to find it online. Can you tell me what it outputs? (A sample line would be good, if that's possible.) I'm wondering if its output could be rearranged and copied to appropriate columns in a NodeXL workbook, which would then let you use NodeXL's "Twitter Search Network Top Items" feature.

-- Tony
Mar 31, 2014 at 7:47 PM
Edited Mar 31, 2014 at 7:49 PM
Here is a link to the mentionMapper.py: https://github.com/alexhanna/hse-twitter/blob/master/bin/mentionMapper.py
#!/usr/bin/env python

import json, sys

def main():

for line in sys.stdin:
        line = line.strip()

data = ''
        try:
            data = json.loads(line)
        except ValueError as detail:
            continue

if not (isinstance(data, dict)):
            ## not a dictionary, skip
            pass
        elif 'delete' in data:
            ## a delete element, skip for now.
            pass
        elif 'user' not in data: