Graph to visualize common attributes

Feb 20, 2014 at 10:20 PM
Hello all,

I have a basic graph visualization question (I'm very new to this):

From what I found till now I get the idea how to make graphs of the type:
"Alice is a friend of Bob" and "Bob is a friend of Charlie"
Then the corresponding graph shows three nodes (A,B,C) connecting A to B and B to C, and not A to C.

Now I would like to make a graph with different type of data:
Alice - female - Pizza
Bob - male - Pizza
Charlie - male - Pasta

It should display three nodes (A,B,C), connecting A to B because both Alice and Bob like pizza. But the graph should not display a node "pizza", i.e. Alice and Bob have a kind of 2nd order connection through their common love for pizza.
Also I would like to see B connected to C because Bob and Charlie are both male (but with a different edge color than for the food preference)

Moreover, I don't want to specify manually that Alice and Bob are connected by defining an edge between them. Because for that I have to compare all members of the database by their attributes. i.e. I want to introduce members in a database with their individual attributes, and then I want to automatically generate a graph to visualize relations between database members.

Could someone help me with this? Or perhaps is graph software not the best tool for this?
Coordinator
Feb 24, 2014 at 3:23 PM
Edited Feb 24, 2014 at 3:24 PM
Hello!

Thank you for the interest in NodeXL.

Networks can be composed of a single type of entity (unimodal) or multiple types of entities (multimodal).

Connections in a network can all be of the same type (uniplex) or contain many types of connections (multiplex).

Networks are expressed in NodeXL in the form of:
 Entity 1, Entity 2, Connection type, Connection Attributes, Entity 1 Attributes, Entity 2 Attributes
I would rewrite the relationships you describe above in the following form:
 Alice, Pizza, (Alice is) Female
 Bob, Pizza, (Bob is) Male