Do I need 4 vertices?

Jan 27, 2009 at 1:41 AM
I’m completely new at NodeXL and newsforums.

I’m trying to visualize a process of finding jobs via the ‘small world model’.
I introduce ‘jobseekers’ from [agencies/unemployed] to [companies/employees]. So, unemployed are introduced to employees, but it would be useful if drawings should visualize from which agencies/ companies these unemployed/ employees belonged to.
What do I need to do:
1. Create a matrix.
2. Create 4 vertices? [Acencies(1)/ unemployed(2)] and [companies(3)/employees(3)?
Thanks,
Hartogh
Jan 27, 2009 at 4:47 AM
Could you clarify your question?

This is what I think you mean.

You have 4 types of nodes:  agencies, unemployed, employees, and companies.

This would be easy to enter into NodeXL.  First, make pairs of agencies and the unemployed.

Agency1    Unemployed1
Agency2    Unemployed2
Agency1    Unemployed3

and so forth to tie each unemployed individual to a representing agency.

The same process can be used to tie Employees to Companies, Agencies to Companies, Unemployed to Employees, or any other combination of node types

To visualize the resultant network effectively, assign colors, shapes, and/or labels to the nodes as a function of their type using the Node worksheet.

Is this helpful, or have I misunderstood your problem?

Eric Gleave
Jan 27, 2009 at 11:51 AM

Dear Mr. Gleave,

Thank you very much! When I came to office, nothing more encouraging than finding your mail with an answer.

In The Netherlands, 80% of the unemployed are finding jobs via ‘informal networks’. Only 20% are ‘hunting’ via these roads. Estimations are that given an number of 200.000 unemployment, there should be 1 million jobs out there, but only traceable via informal networks. In practice I already exercise the ‘small world model’, which says that you can find a job in six steps, but you have to navigate effectively and accurate through these social circles (six degrees of society).