I am a beginner--am trying to enter manual twitter hashtag and it won't graph

Jul 16, 2013 at 7:59 PM
Edited Jul 16, 2013 at 7:59 PM
Hi I am a beginner. I am trying to analyze a hashtag that is too old to automatically import so I am trying to enter the information manually. I am entering each edge by who tweeted whom. Now it won't graph for me. What am I doing wrong? Sherrie
Jul 16, 2013 at 8:46 PM
Hello, Sherrie:

I assume that you typed information into NodeXL's Edges worksheet, clicked the Show Graph (or Refresh Graph) button, and nothing appeared in the graph pane on the right side of the Excel window. If that's the case, then one thing that might have gone wrong is that you typed the information into the wrong part of the worksheet. Did you start typing in the first empty row? The first edge's vertices should by typed into cells A3 and B3. If you start typing further down, NodeXL won't find your edges.

-- Tony
Jul 16, 2013 at 8:58 PM
Hi Tony
Thank you for contacting me! Show Graph and Refresh Graph don't work.
I entered the data underneath the edges that were calculated from the follower/follow data.
Do I need to erase that and only enter twitter info?
Or do I enter a NEW column of edges?
When I look in my excel file under edges, there is a Vertex 1 and vertex 2 column. I don't see an A3 or a B3 cell. ???
Jul 16, 2013 at 9:09 PM
Ah...by A3 you mean row 3 in column A and row 3 in column b. I will try erasing the earlier stuff and have only the twitter stuff in those columns and see if that works.
Jul 16, 2013 at 9:12 PM
Sherrie:

A3 and B3 are examples of how you refer to individual cells in an Excel worksheet. "A3" means the cell in row 3 of column A, for example. But you can ignore that for now, because I misunderstood what you are doing.

So you had some edges in the worksheet already, and then you typed in more edges. Please tell me two things: