Importing/entering multiple networks into NodeXL

Apr 10, 2012 at 11:19 PM

Hi,

I have a question about importing/entering multiple networks into NodeXL. I am new to NodeXL so please bear with me. I currently have several networks that I want to import/enter into NodeXL. My basic networks are as follows: John has business ties with Mary. John is a member of Group A. Mary is involved with drug trafficking. Mary is based in Argentina. So my question is, on the vertices worksheet will all the vertices be grouped together such as Mary, Group A, Argentina, Drug trafficking and will all the edges on the edges worksheet be grouped together, such as John has ties to Mary, John is a member of group A, etc.?  I understand that for the edges that one vertex will have John's name and the other will have Mary's, etc.  I hope this makes sense!!!

I would appreciate any assistance you can provide.

Coordinator
Apr 11, 2012 at 5:04 AM
Edited Apr 11, 2012 at 5:05 AM

All relationships in NodeXL are stored in the Edges worksheet.

I suggest it is best not to directly author vertices: enter the edges first and NodeXL will then move a unique list of vertices to that worksheet.  This avoids error.  Once a vertex is listed in this worksheet you can add metadata that describes the entity.

Your example features several types of edges.  Edges can be represented by entering a value in columns A and B in the Edges worksheet.  The type of edge can be defined by adding a relationship type column to the Edges worksheet.

In your example, each type of relationship gets its own row in the edges worksheet.

John, Mary, Business 

John, Group A, Member

Mary, John, Sells narcotics to

Mary, Argentina, Resides in

Optionally, you can add additional attributes to these edges, for example a dollar value:

Mary, John, Sells narcotics to, $1,000,000