Deploying NodeXL

Feb 16, 2012 at 9:54 PM

I have been using and experimenting with NodeXL for a few months and now I'm ready to deploy it to a few agencies who will use it to document disease testing and social networks for monthly progress reports on grants from the CDC. I'll be conducting training in a couple of weeks, so I'll also have to set up a computer lab.

I just want to make sure I do it right, so I'm asking if I'm missing anything.

1. On a mix of computers running Excel 2007/2010 on Windows XP/Vista/7--Install either 1.0.1.196 (which I have based my template on) or 1.0.1.201 (if there is no major change in functionality that I have to allow for (and rewrite the training materials that I have created))

2. Export the Options settings from my computer via thumb drive and Import them for each installation.

3. Copy my empty template file to each computer (for the classroom) and to a folder on the server (for the work copy at each agency).

4. Set the network folder on the server as a trusted location in Excel.

Have I missed anything? I don't want to hit any surprises in front of a classroom of people.

Thanks for your insight (and this software).

Feb 16, 2012 at 10:37 PM
Edited Feb 16, 2012 at 10:45 PM

Bill:

If multiple people will be logging into your lab and agency computers with different accounts, you'll have to install NodeXL for "everyone" on each computer.  Please see "How to install NodeXL for multiple users" at http://nodexl.codeplex.com/discussions/228638 for details.

If that's the case, getting each person to use the same options file is going to be a bit tricky, because each account gets its own hidden "new workbook options file" that is stored in his profile folder.  Each person is going to have to import the standard options file you want him to use, then select NodeXL, Options, Use Current for New in the ribbon to get a copy of that options file into his profile folder.  That doesn't happen automatically.