Adding visual properties for labels in Edges tab

Nov 10, 2011 at 2:09 PM

Hello,

I'm new to the NodeXL tool but I find it very useful! However it would be great if it was possible to add extra functionality (already existing in the Vertices tab) to the Edges tab. What I would like to be able to do is add an image (Label shape) with a specific size and a name, it would also be great if it was possible to add a tooltip to it. Is there any workaround for this today and/or is it possible to include in future versions of NodeXL?

I appreciate all guideance that I can get.

//Sillenski

Nov 11, 2011 at 5:36 AM
Edited Nov 11, 2011 at 5:41 AM

Sillenski:

I’m pleased to hear that you’re making good use of NodeXL.

If I understand your suggestion, you would like to be able to specify that an image be shown on top of an edge.  I have some questions about how that would work:

1. What would be an example of an image you might show on top of an edge?

2. Would edge images rotate with the edges, or would they always remain upright?

3. What would happen when an edge is too short to include the entire image?  Would the image get cropped?  (Today, edge labels get abbreviated with ellipses on short edges.)

4. Would edge images be readily distinguishable from vertices?  After all, they both have lines emanating from them.

-- Tony

Nov 11, 2011 at 1:04 PM

Hi Tony,

It seems like you understand my suggestion perfectly. This is my situation: I'm getting outside the box in mechanical engineering by trying to use NodeXL to visualize product architectures where the groups are "sub assemblies"/clusters of technical solutions and the edges are the interfaces that connects them. It's great to be able to show a picture of the sub assemblies but it would also be great if we could visualise the interfaces.  

1. What would be an example of an image you might show on top of an edge?