Importing raw data to NodeXL

Oct 25, 2011 at 11:55 PM

Hi,

I am totally new to this and I did a fair amount of search to see if anyone else has brought up this topic. My question is: imagine I have a java program that generates a large graph in terms of vertices and edges. Obviously manual date entry in NodeXL workbook is not an option. What is the easiest way to import this raw data in NodeXL? I considered automatically generating a .csv file but it does not seem that NodeXL imports such files.  What I need is a data format where I can use to create a NodeXL compliant data file directly from the java program. Is this possible?

Coordinator
Oct 26, 2011 at 1:12 AM

NodeXL imports from CSV, GraphML, open Excel workbooks, and directly from various social media network data sources including Twitter, Flcikr, Facebook, YouTube, email, and the WWW.

Your Java code could write CSV edge lists which NodeXL could then import.

-

Marc

Coordinator
Oct 26, 2011 at 1:39 AM
Edited Oct 26, 2011 at 2:00 AM

Here are a few options, in order of complexity.

1. Have your Java program write a tab-delimited file.  (I wouldn't use CSV unless you can guarantee that a vertex name will never include a comma.)  NodeXL can't read such a file directly, but you can import it into a standard Excel workbook using Excel Button, Open, and filter on Text Files.  Once you get the file into a standard Excel workbook, you can use NodeXL, Data, Import, From Open Workbook to copy the data from the standard Excel workbook to a NodeXL workbook.  It requires two steps, but if this is just an occasional task, then this is what I would do.

2. Have your Java program write a GraphML file (http://graphml.graphdrawing.org/primer/graphml-primer.html), then import it directly into a NodeXL workbook using NodeXL, Data, Import, From GraphML File.  This requires just one step, and GraphML supports edge and vertex attributes.