tooltip on links between vertices.

Jul 28, 2011 at 10:55 AM

Hi - is it possible to add tooltip information to the links between vertices?

I am trying to add information describing the nature of each relationship (beyond directional arrows).

Thank you for any suggestions you may have

Jim

Coordinator
Jul 28, 2011 at 11:17 AM

Yes!  NodeXL can assign any cell's value to the tooltip on a vertex.

See Autofill Columns for an easy way to set the connection between a tooltip and a column value.

-

Marc

Jul 28, 2011 at 12:08 PM

Hi - thanks for the suggestion. I may be misinterpreting but are you are referring to Vortex tooltip?

I am hoping to turn the Edge label into a tooltip (or add a tooltip on top of an existing edge label)?

Apologies if I'm not picking up on your suggestion incorrectly - I'm pretty new to NodeXL but like it a lot

Thanks for your time

Jim

Coordinator
Jul 28, 2011 at 12:36 PM

I think I did misunderstand.

NodeXL can place labels on Edges.

Edges in NodeXL do not have tooltips.

Edge can have a width, opacity, color, style (dashed, solid, dotted) and label text.

Edges may optionally display a directional arrow head (if the network is directed).

-

Marc

Jul 28, 2011 at 1:46 PM
Hi Marc,

Is there any chance of adding this feature? It would be extremely useful.
It would be the only instance I know of in any Social Network software.

Peteer

On Thu, July 28, 2011 7:36 am, marcsmith wrote:
> From: marcsmith
>
>
> I think I did misunderstand.NodeXL can place labels on Edges.Edges in
> NodeXL do not have tooltips.Edge can have a width, opacity, color, style
> (dashed, solid, dotted) and label text.Edges may optionally display a
> directional arrow head (if the network is directed).-Marc
>
>
Jul 28, 2011 at 1:58 PM

Hi Marc - thanks for your swift responses.

I would support Peter's suggestion for inclusion in future release - I think it would be extremely valuable addition

Thanks

jim

Coordinator
Jul 28, 2011 at 2:15 PM