Chart layout question

Jun 20, 2011 at 7:38 PM

Noob alert! I've been assigned a new project, have experimented with NodeXL for 4 days, have no background in social networking, but I'm a pretty smart Data Manager and I can do this. While I wait for the book to arrive I've been experimenting and watching demos and reading PowerPoint presentations, and I've learned a lot and had some success. I'm running Excel 2007 on Windows 7.

This is a basic question, but I can't figure out the answer.

I have to set up a simple system in which health provider agencies can document some small social networks quarterly in order to evaluate their testing procedures. They will be using the graphs only for printing, no electronic submissions or drilling down. Probably not more than 100 vertices on a page and no more than 3 levels of connections.

When I set this up, I cannot get the the people to cluster around their immediate connection using the Fruchterman-Reingold graph. It looks like a pile of pick-up sticks. I can trick it by graphing a circle first, but when I switch to F-R, the vertices don't cluster around the focus of their network. It's clearer, but barely. It probably has to do with one of the columns of data being empty, but I don't know which one nor what the acceptible data range is for each. I have experimented with those columns, but since Betweeness Centrality and Eigenvectors, etc., are Greek to me, I'm at a stopping point.

Even the Sample Workbook is useless to me. I can't find anything in its data that would suggest how they got that chart to be so orderly.

Any suggestion?

Thank you.

Bill Pearson

Jun 21, 2011 at 5:30 AM
Edited Jun 21, 2011 at 4:30 PM

Bill: