Installed, Crashes? Half Works...

Sep 17, 2010 at 3:23 AM

Hi, I'm new to NodeXL and usually use a Mac -- I'm running NodeXL on a Mac in Bootcamp, with XP and Excel 2010. I think I got the install right (took a while to figure out which of the three install icons to use), but now I get the following error when I either launch the NodeXL template from the Start menu or when I try to make a new file from the template from Excel:

************** Exception Text **************
System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Uncaught exception thrown by method called through Reflection. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80131604)
   at System.AppDomain.Unload(AppDomain domain)
   at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Tools.Office.Runtime.DomainCreator.CreateCustomizationDomainInternal(String solutionLocation, String manifestName, String documentName, Boolean showUIDuringDeployment, IntPtr hostServiceProvider, IntPtr& executor)
   at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Tools.Office.Runtime.DomainCreator.Microsoft.VisualStudio.Tools.Office.Runtime.Interop.IDomainCreator.CreateCustomizationDomain(String solutionLocation, String manifestName, String documentName, Boolean showUIDuringDeployment, IntPtr hostServiceProvider, IntPtr& executor)

Excel doesn't actually crash out, and the column headers and pages of the file all get info from NodeXL, but the NodeXL menu tab thing (don't know the name exactly) doesn't appear up at the top. Any ideas? (I hope this is a really dumb, easy to fix question....)

Thanks,

Nat Poor.

Sep 17, 2010 at 4:21 AM
Edited Sep 17, 2010 at 4:22 AM

This problem occurs when you have something called ".NET Programmability Support" disabled.  It is normally enabled when Office is installed, but if you disable it when you install Office, you will get this error when you attempt to use the NodeXL template.

[The following instructions were written for Office 2007.  They should also work for Office 2010, although I haven't tried it yet.]

To enable .NET Programmability Support, do this: